The Four Seasons

Some months are cold, some months are pleasant, others are hot, some are wet, and during some months the leaves of some trees change colour.

There are four major seasons in a year, and some countries have five.

They are winter, spring, summer, the rainy season, and autumn.

Each season lasts for around two to three months.

Winter is the season when it’s cold.

During this season, the days are short and the nights are long.

In some places, it becomes very cold and there is snow, fog and frost.

People stay warm by wearing woollen clothes like coats, boots, gloves and mufflers.

Children have fun playing outdoors, sliding, skating, and snow building.

After winter comes spring.

The weather becomes pleasant.

Trees sprout new leaves, and generally flowers are seen everywhere.

After spring, the sun shines brightly in the clear sky and the weather becomes hot.

The days are long and the nights are short.

This is the summer season.

In summer, people wear thin, loose clothes and like to drink cold water and other cold drinks.

Then comes the rainy season.

There are dark clouds in the sky. On some days, the sun is hidden behind the clouds and cannot be seen.

There is a lot of rainfall.

People wear raincoats and rain boots to protect themselves from getting wet.

After the rainy season, the weather becomes slightly cold and dry.

Vegetables and fruits ripen. The leaves of some trees change colour and fall.

This is the autumn season. It’s also called the fall season.

People wear light woollen clothes.

Children are seen outdoors playing outdoors.